Petal Barclay-Smith Ministries

DELIVERANCE AND HEALING

Interceding For One Another

 

By PBS Ministries

Intercessors stand in the gap in prayer to God for one another, seeking mercy instead of judgment and life over death. Prayer warriors are willing to face a risk or sacrifice in order to obtain mercy. As intercessors, we are to have a personal relationship with God, we must know what it is to receive favor from God, what it is to walk and talk with Him and trust Him in His goodness.

Ezekiel 22:30 says:

I looked for someone among them who would build up the wall and stand before me in the gap on behalf of the land so I would not have to destroy it, but I found no one.

Intercessors can pray a prayer, make a request, make a stand and have it bear fruit for the masses. We mediate on behalf of others by urging, pleading, risking and making petitions on issues relating to the weaker ones. Some intercessors are called by God. There are many examples of intercessors in the Bible and they walk with the favor to impact and change God’s heart.

Abraham interceded for Sodom which was due for destruction because of sin. Because of Abraham’s intercession, God was willing to spare Sodom if Abraham could find ten righteous people.

In the Gospel of John, Jesus interceded for His disciples. Chapter17, verses 6- 19 revealed:

“I have revealed you to those whom you gave me out of the world. They were yours; you gave them to me and they have obeyed your word. Now they know that everything you have given me comes from you. For I gave them the words you gave me and they accepted them. They knew with certainty that I came from you, and they believed that you sent me. I pray for them. I am not praying for the world, but for those you have given me, for they are yours. 10 All I have is yours, and all you have is mine. And glory has come to me through them. 11 I will remain in the world no longer, but they are still in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, protect them by the power of your name, the name you gave me, so that they may be one as we are one. 12 While I was with them, I protected them and kept them safe by that name you gave me. None has been lost except the one doomed to destruction so that Scripture would be fulfilled.

13 “I am coming to you now, but I say these things while I am still in the world, so that they may have the full measure of my joy within them. 14 I have given them your word and the world has hated them, for they are not of the world any more than I am of the world. 15 My prayer is not that you take them out of the world but that you protect them from the evil one. 16 They are not of the world, even as I am not of it. 17 Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth. 18 As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world. 19 For them I sanctify myself, that they too may be truly sanctified.

The very Apostle Paul was a great intercessor. He lived and died by prayers. His letters were bathed with prayer for others. He said in First Timothy 2:1-4: 

I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people— for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.

To the saints in Ephesus, Paul prayed:  For this reason, ever since I heard about your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all God’s people, 16 I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. 17 I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. 18 I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people, 19 and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is the same as the mighty strength 20 he exerted when he raised Christ from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms.

Prayers cannot be answered unless they are offered. Jesus said we ought always to pray and not to faint. And as we pray, we must pray out of a deep love and concern for those who are lost.  Paul tells us, I will therefore that men pray everywhere, lifting up holy hands, without wrath and doubting. In everything give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

When we intercede for one another, let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.  We are told to ask, and it shall be given us; seek, and we shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto us. We must pray with faith believing that whatever we ask, it shall be done as we rejoice in hope; be patient in tribulation and continue in instant  prayer. Amen

11 comments on “Interceding For One Another

  1. gwwministry
    August 23, 2013

    Intercession is one of my greatest joys in ministry! Love this post!

  2. pbsministries
    August 23, 2013

    Amen. Blessings always,

  3. ebun23
    August 23, 2013

    I love this. Thank you!

  4. Pingback: The Best Way to Live | This Day With God

  5. Pingback: sixbrownbears

  6. Pingback: Prayer of faith | mubiana

  7. Pingback: Intercessory Prayer: Wisdom or Folly? | Victrocious

  8. Pingback: Intercessory Prayer: Guidelines for Leaders | Victrocious

  9. Pingback: Intercessory Prayer: Guidelines for Lay Members | Victrocious

  10. Pingback: Prayer: DC Shooting | Inspirational Christian Blogs

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2013 by .
