Petal Barclay-Smith Ministries

DELIVERANCE AND HEALING

God’s Natural Attributes

 

By PBS Ministries

Today, we will look at  some of the natural attributes of God. They are called God’s natural attributes because they are qualities ascribed or inherent to God only.  God is sovereign, He is the Almighty God and the I Am and He does not have to conform to our finite ways of thinking.  

Unity

The Lord is God all by Himself and besides Him there is no other. The Lord our God the Lord is one. The Book of Ephesians Chapter 4, verses 4-6 tell us: “There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called to one hope when you were called; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.

 

Eternity

God will reign on and on forever through all generations and His years will never end.  Moses said in his prayer, before the mountains were born or you brought forth the whole world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God. God is the first and the last and besides Him there is no other.

 

Omnipresence

God is everywhere at the same time. He is in the North America, South America, Europe, Africa, the Caribbean, etc. He is in heaven and on earth all at the same moment.  Psalm 139: 7-10 tell us: Where can I go from Your Spirit? Or where can I flee from Your presence? If I ascend into heaven, You are there; If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there. If I take the wings of the morning, And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, 10 Even there Your hand shall lead me, And Your right hand shall hold me. The Book of Jeremiah 23:23-24 state: “Am I only a God nearby,” declares the Lord, “and not a God far away? 24 Who can hide in secret places so that I cannot see them?”  “Do not I fill heaven and earth?” declares the Lord.

 

Omniscience

God is all knowing of all things. He knows our inner most thoughts from afar off. The Psalmist David said in Psalm 139: O Lord, You have searched me and known me.You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down, And are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue, But behold, O Lord, You know it altogether. You have hedged me behind and before, And laid Your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; It is high, I cannot attain it.

Omnipotent

God is all powerful. He has the power to do anything and everything. He has parted the Red Sea for the children of Israel to come out of Egypt, He enabled Sarah who was barren and Abraham who was in his old age to bear a son, He made the walls of Jericho fall after the army had marched around them for seven days. Nothing is too hard for our God to do. Matthew 19:26 says: “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.

Immutability

God is the same yesterday, today and forever. He is the I Am that I Am.  John 8:58 says “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” He is a God that changeth not. He is timeless and eternal.

Holy

The Lord our God is Holy and He wants us to be holy. Isaiah 6:3 says: “And they were calling to one another: “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.” In First Samuel two, verse two tells us: “There is no one holy like the Lord; there is no one besides you; there is no Rock like our God.

2 comments on “God’s Natural Attributes

  1. Pingback: New Again | New Heaven on Earth!

  2. Pingback: The help of the Lord | daily meditation

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2013 by .
